Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
5

The first year

home from the hospital
5

For the story from the beginning see US freedom flyers substack or follow this link

US Freedom Flyers
Helicopter And Fixed-Wing Pilot Describes His Injury From The Covid-19 Injection
My name is Tim McAdams, I am currently 60 years old, and I have been an airplane/helicopter pilot for 41 years, this was my chosen profession. I am currently, and have been for the last 13 years, employed by a major aircraft manufacturer…
Read more

Today is February 15th, 2023 this day is the one-year mark since I was released from the hospital. This had me thinking about all the things that I have done in the one year that I've been home. I learned to walk, swallow food/drink and drive a car. Now, these things sound very basic and they are. For me, I had a hard time understanding why I had trouble doing these things. The way I realized what an accomplishment those things truly were for me, was the realization of where I started from. When I came home from the hospital my balance was so bad that I couldn't stand on my own let alone drive a car. I was unable to swallow and had to learn how to make the muscle movements required to allow my throat to swallow food. After time and lots of practice, I was able to do these basic things. The video above, made by my daughter Lexy, shows how difficult things were on my family and me in the beginning. It is hard for me to watch without getting emotional, because now I see everything my family went through and I think of other families who also went through something similar to this and their loved one did not survive, it breaks my heart.

As my recovery continues, the balance, coordination and strength, especially on my left side, has not returned as much as I wanted it to, making every day some type of struggle. As such, I still have to slowly walk up and down stairs, get dressed slowly (just buttoning a shirt was hard to do) and carefully do most tasks. I can not exercise like I want to. I am hoping this will improve over the next year. I am coming to the realization that the FAA may never give me a medical certificate. In talking with other stroke victims the FAA wants applicants to show why they had a stroke and that it can be controlled by medication or repaired by surgery (that seems reasonable to me to insure it doesn't happen again). Tests on me revealed no cause and the FAA does not recognize the shot as a cause yet, so my career may be over. I plan to discuss my options this summer with an AME. Because some idiot decided to mandate an experimental shot, me and my family's lives have changed forever and my career may be ruined. But, at least I am alive. Some people have not been so lucky.

5 Comments
Tim’s Substack
Tim’s Substack
Authors
Tim McAdams